Friday, July 11, 2014

Northern Cyprus

Northern Cyprus (also known as Kuzey Kibris and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus) is part of a little island in the Mediterranean Sea.

Since 1974, thirty-seven percent of this Cypriot island (in the northeastern region) has been occupied by Turkey, yet Cyprus and Turkey are continuing to determine a solution to the issue of this divided island.

Northern Cyprus has three districts, which are Famagusta (Gazimağusa), Kyrenia (Girne), and Nicosia (Lefkosa), as well as the districts of Guzelyurt and Iskele.

The main cities in Northern Cyprus are Famagusta (Gazimağusa), Kyrenia (Girne), Northern Nicosia (Kuzey Lefkosa).

The entire district of Kyrenia is located within Northern Cyprus, while the districts of Famagusta and Nicosia, as well as the city of Nicosia, are divided between Cyprus and Northern Cyprus.

Northern Cyprus features a variety of sites to visit, including Bellapais Abbey, Buyuk Han, Kyrenia Castle and Shipwreck Museum, Othello's Castle, Saint Barnabas Monastery, Saint George of the Greeks Church Ruins, Saint Hilarion Castle, Salamis Archaeological Site, etc.

Hope you continue to enjoy Exploring Cyprus in Northern Cyprus!

No comments:

Post a Comment