Sunday, July 13, 2014

Nicosia: The District

The district of Nicosia (also known as Lefkosia) is one of the five districts in Cyprus.

This district spans from the mountains to the island's capital city of Nicosia, yet part of the Nicosia district is situated in Northern Cyprus, which will be featured in a future blog post.

Within the Nicosia district, the main city is Nicosia.  Some of the villages in the Nicosia district include: Alampra Village, Dali Village, Kakopetria Village, Kalopanagiotis Village, Moutoullas Village, Pedoulas Village, Pera Chorio Village, Politiko Village, Potamia Village, etc.

In the Nicosia district, there are a variety of sites to visit, such as the Agios Ioannis Lampadistis Monastery, Agios Irakleidios Monastery, Agios Mamas Church Ruins, Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis Church, Agios Sozomenos Abandoned Village, Alampra Archaeological Site, Archangelos Michail Church, Cyprus Archaeological Museum, Famagusta Gate, Holy Cross Chapel, Idalion Archaeological Site, Kykkos Monastery, Ledra Shopping Street, Ledra Street Observatory, Lusignan Palace Ruins, Machairas Monastery, Old Watermill Museum, Panagia Chrysopiliotissa Church, Panagia tou Moutoulla Church, Platania Picnic Site, Tamassos Archaeological Site, Throni Hill, etc.



The district of Nicosia is worth exploring by locals and tourists.

Site: District of Nicosia. 

Category: District. 

Location: Republic of Cyprus. 

Phone Number: N/A. 

Operating Hours: N/A. 

Entrance Fee: Free. 

Date of Visit: 2008 to 2014.

No comments:

Post a Comment