Thursday, July 17, 2014

Famagusta: The District

The district of Famagusta (also known as Ammochostos) is one of the five districts in Cyprus.


Famagusta is considered a divided district, since it's situated in both Cyprus and Northern Cyprus, which will be featured in a future blog post.

The Famagusta district is located on the south-eastern side of the island.  Within this district, there's an area called the Kokkinochoria, due to the rich red soil in which Cypriot potatoes and other vegetables are grown.

The main city in the Famagusta district is Ayia Napa.  Some of the villages in this district include: Paralimni Village, Protaras Village, etc.


The district of Famagusta features many places to explore, particularly Cape Gkreko.

Site: District of Famagusta. 

Category: District. 

Location: Republic of Cyprus. 

Phone Number: N/A. 

Operating Hours: N/A. 

Entrance Fee: Free. 

Date of Visit: 2010 to 2014.

No comments:

Post a Comment